Divorce Without Court

Divorce Without Court

Actually, the answer is no.  In Texas it is impossible to get a divorced completed from start to finish without the signature of a Judge. In order to be divorced, a decree of divorce has to be signed in a courtroom. The only way to avoid going to court to actually be...

Can Divorce Papers Be Served With Email?

As of 2021, Texas law allows a person to be served with notice of a divorce via email, however not without following some difficult steps with the court first. Here is the specific law on this topic, which can be found under Texas Rules of Civil Procedure 106: Rule...

Texas Residency Statute To File Divorce

SUBCHAPTER D. JURISDICTION, VENUE, AND RESIDENCE QUALIFICATIONS Sec. 6.301. GENERAL RESIDENCY RULE FOR DIVORCE SUIT. A suit for divorce may not be maintained in this state unless at the time the suit is filed either the petitioner or the respondent has been: (1) a...

Mortgage Pre-qualification & Child Support

Incorrect Mortgage Prequalification Letter Results in Big Loss to Single Mother in Austin Here is what happened to Kimberly Hogan. Kimberly Hogan and her daughter lived in Colorado but planned to move to Austin. So, Hogan applied to Aspire Financial for a home loan...

Can I Sue The Government?

The three sorts of situations that Texas governmental immunity is waived:1.  You can sue the Texas government for its use of publicly owned automobiles.2. Premises defects.3. injuries arising out of a condition or use of tangible personal property.Can I Sue The...

How to win the house in your divorce

If the house was purchased during the marriage, the judge can award the house to either person or order that the house will be sold. Here are some of the best ways to win the house in a divorce in Texas: First, show the judge that you can afford it by showing that you...

Texas Divorce Residency Requirement

It is true, in order to file for divorce in Texas, you have to physically live here for at least 6 months.  You also have to live in your county where you are filing the divorce for at least 90 days.  If you do not live here and your spouse does, that is fine as...

Emancipation of Minor Law in Texas

Emancipation of Minor Law in Texas

To Remove Minority Status in Texas, The 16 or 17 Year Old Has To Prove That He or She is Financially IndependentSome Teenagers Need to Fly a Little Sooner Than Thier Childhood (Or "Minor") Status Allows.Here is a link to the actual redacted forms that Alex filed in...

Who Should File Divorce First?

This video is made by Megan Cook to help people understand that they do not need to stress out about being the first person to file for divorce. Bottom line:  There is not an advantage with the judge for filing the divorce first.

Fidelity Retirement Divisions in Divorce

If you have a 401(k) or other retirement account with Fidelity, I hope this post will give you a piece of guidance for your starting point. When it comes to dividing retirement in a divorce case, there is a specific document that is used to divide each retirement...